Nicki Bluhm & The Gramblers

Friday night I went to Harlow’s to see a show for a band that I’d never heard of. The friend I went to the Alt-J concert with made a nice gesture and looked up some upcoming sets on the Harlow’s website. He listened to Nicki Bluhm and the Gramblers. Knowing that I grew up on country music, he suggested we go to the show. I’m really glad we did–they were great!

They played a set over an hour long (we left a little early–there was a drunk woman that kept attempting to dance on me, and another that spilled half my beer on the floor), but the music was great. They do a few covers, but many people in the band contribute and write the band’s music.

For such a small person, Nicki Bluhm has a surprising voice–she captured everyone’s attention and didn’t give it back. She has no gimmicks or weird personality–she was very straightforward with the audience and you could tell she took this seriously but was having a great time. She killed me with her version of “Break off a piece of my heart” (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=up_3fPQX6aU). If you haven’t heard them, I suggest you do: http://www.nickibluhm.com/. I believe they have a new album coming out soon.

Enjoy your Sunday night!

Christian 🙂

PS here’s what I’m listening to!: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WJiCUdLBxuI

Leave a Reply

